On Renewable Energy


Recap: Time travelling Drunk Pirate and modern Drunk Dude have finally left the alley…

Drunk Pirate: Arrr, matey! Where be we headin’? I be missin’ our spot already!

Drunk Dude: Night’s still young, my dude. We need to ‘renew our energy’ as my pal likes to call it. and…I know just the place.

Drunk Pirate repeated the word to himself. “En-gy”

Drunk Dude led the way to a small seedy, run down bar.

As the overhead bell chimed marking their entrance, a big old man looked up with a scowl. “We’re closing. Come tomorrow.”

“Aw don’t be like that georgy, we’re here for somethin’ important.” Drunk Dude slurred.

“I know what you’re here for. Answer’s No.” Old man sighed.

Drunk Dude shook his finger at the old man, “no. no, hear us out.” he waived the Drunk pirate over.

“Arrr, matey, we be here fer the good stuff, ‘Renor engy’ be the name!.” Drunk Pirate grinned.

The old man cocked his head in confusion.

Like that renewable energy stuff” Drunk Dude nodded his head.

Something invisible seemed to strike the old man then. His attention snapping to the interlopers. His complexion becoming ruddy.

“And now you spoofs too? Like I was telling the other fools before, Aint no such things as that. It’s all to mint money.”

Drunk Dude leaned on the counter. “Oh. We got no money…

“That what I told the smartasses.” Old man began to wipe the counter aggressively. “People don’t have money to feed their families and they want us to get one of the battery cars!”

“Arrr, matey… ye bringin’ the good stuff?’ Pirate asked from his perch on the stool.

Never!” Old man said. “They tryna make those cars look fancy and sleek, and everyone’s fooled. Not me. No sir. I need my space!”

“Okay old man. We got it. You have ur space..” Drunk Dude placated from his new position at the entrance of the bar.

“C’mon my dude. We got places to be.” He called over the Drunk Pirate who’d slumped in his seat.

TBC


8 thoughts on “On Renewable Energy

Leave a comment